Beef Stroganoff


So I may have lied in my last post. In my last post I promised to document some healthier meals here on thegoodscald. However, when you have  leftover prime rib from New Year’s Feast it must be put to good use. Beef stroganoff seemed like a perfect choice. While originating from 19th Russian, beef stroganoff is really only known to me through my fathers interpretation. The only other time I can remember having it is perhaps at my sister Keira’s.



Tonight I followed my fathers recipe as closely as I could. The only places where I had difficulty was knowing how long the mushrooms needed to cook to throw off their extra water and how thick the final sauce should be. Despite my questions (which I always have) it turned out as close to my dad’s as my memory can detect.

My only allusion to a healthier meal was pairing this hearty meal with a salad. And I specifically tried to serve a large side salad with a small portion of beef stroganoff to accommodate the typical new year’s ideals of a healthier lifestyle. For the salad Justin grated fresh beets and placed them on top of green leaf lettuce along with crumbled goat cheese and walnuts. I made a quick dressing of balsamic, extra virgin olive oil, Herbs de Provence and agave. I have had agave sitting in my fridge for at least a couple years and still don’t have a clear idea of what I like it for.  I think I prefer the taste of honey myself but it might be good for those (like my mother) who are not fans.


All and all it was a pretty extravagant dinner for a Tuesday after work. Especially when served in the light of handcrafted candles – a Christmas gift made by Patrice’s boyfriend John. We also used my new linen napkins from Justin. Even though he thought they were dishtowels.

Beef–Cut into 2-inch long strips and very thin.
Sliced mushrooms (one container or two small cans of mushrooms)
Salt
Pepper
Olive oil
Butter (or use all olive oil)
2 T. Flour
One medium onion, diced fine
1/2 cup sour cream
1 can beef broth
 
Dry fry the mushrooms and a little salt.  When most of the water thrown off by the mushrooms is gone, add 1 T. Olive oil and fry on low heat until nicely browned.  Remove from pan, set aside in serving bowl.
 
Melt 2 tablespoon butter in a medium saucepan.
 
Cook onions until translucent
 
Blend in flour, mixing with butter (oil) and onions on low heat until flour begins to turn light brown
 
Gradually stir in beef broth, stirring and cooking until thickened and smooth. Check for salt. Put this with the mushrooms
 
Heat 1 tablespoon of butter and 1 tablespoon olive oil over medium heat; quickly brown meat strips–do not over crowd–do in batches if necessary
 
Put everything back in the skillet.  Warm just to a simmer
 
Add Sour cream and stir well.
 
Serve with noodles or rice

About thegoodscald

Daughter of Dennis and Donna, I grew up in a home where love was shown through food. Preparing and sharing a family meal has always brought us together. After eating the best meals, my grandma Betty spoke for all of us when she declared "that's a good scald." I hope that this blog can act as a living document of my family's culinary history. Through recording our recipes we can relive the times we have shared and enjoy many more good scalds.
This entry was posted in Dinners, Leftovers, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment